expectations to ashes

Sleeping With Sirens have unveiled the second single from the upcoming record, “Gossip.”

And it’s so much better than “Legends.”

Empire To Ashes – Sleeping With Sirens (Lyrics)

The lion and the wolf
Old gods and the new
Battle of the bastards
Trying to break through
A back and forth pendulum
We can’t seem to stop
Ticking like a metronome
Can’t kill the clock
Somedays I feel like we’re just symptoms of our system
Black hole no hope
Psycho syndrome

Hey!
Feels like we’re caged animals
Looking for the antidote
To break the chains they put us in
Yeah you can call it cynical
Maybe I’m just miserable
But there’s no way I’m giving in
To their lies I’m gonna fight
And put it all on the line tonight
So light the gas with some matches
Let’s burn the old empire into ashes

Woah, woah
Let’s burn it all into ashes

The young man dreams while he sleeps in his bed
Death keeps an eye while he’s waiting for the dead
If life is a needle then my soul is the thread
My mouth is the poison, my tongue is the lead
Somedays I feel like I’m just stuck in my own skin
Try to break free but I can’t escape me

Hey!
Feels like we’re caged animals
Looking for the antidote
To break the chains they put us in
Yeah you can call it cynical
Maybe I’m just miserable
But there’s no way I’m giving in
To their lies I’m gonna fight
And put it all on the line tonight
So light the gas with some matches
Let’s burn the old empire into ashes

Woah, woah
Let’s burn it all into ashes

Let’s turn it all into ashes
Sometimes I feel like we’re just symptoms of our system
Black hole no hope
Psycho syndrome
Psycho syndrome

Hey!
Feels like we’re caged animals
Looking for the antidote
To break the chains they put us in
Yeah you can call it cynical
Maybe I’m just miserable
But there’s no way I’m giving in
Hey!
Feels like we’re caged animals
Looking for the antidote
To break the chains they put us in
Yeah you can call it cynical
Maybe I’m just miserable
But there’s no way I’m giving in

Woah, woah
There’s no way I’m giving in
Woah, woah
Let’s burn it all into ashes

Finally!

There’s that Kellin Quinn lyricism lacking on the first release of “Gossip.” In “Empire To Ashes,” Quinn bares his soul, describing a fight against all odds.

Not only does he battle with those who attempt to bring him down, he also quarrels with himself. With both of those themes playing out in the same track, the writer shows that life’s struggles don’t come one at a time.

Using fire as a solution shows something salient. Fire is often used to denote a complete destruction of something. Therefore, by reducing the “empire to ashes,” Quinn is metaphorically destroying everything that stands in his way on his path to self-love.

Lyrically, this track is absolutely gorgeous.

Musically reminiscent of 2015’s album “Madness,” this single is distinctly pop rock, which, honestly, was to be expected. With “Legends” being a pop song at best, the entirety of “Gossip” will very likely shift the band in a mostly pop rock direction (much like “Madness”). However, fans of 2010 era SWS shouldn’t despair; even the 2015 release included bolder tracks including “We Like It Loud.” And while “Madness” was musically light, lyrically, it still held weight (“November,” “Save Me A Spark,” “Better Off Dead”).

In addition to being a progressive alternative song, “Empire To Ashes,” unlike “Legends,” allows Quinn to show his impressive vocals and the band themselves to unleash their powerful sound.

The verdict?

“Empire To Ashes” burned expectations by surpassing “Legends” in every aspect, leaving fans and critics alike in anticipation for what “Gossip” will bring.

Leave a Reply

